The 2020 Joint Conference on AI Music Creativity

October 19-23, 2020 organized and hosted virtually by the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden

The 2020 Joint Conference on AI Music Creativity will be entirely virtual.

This conference brings together for the first time two overlapping research forums: The Computer Simulation of Music Creativity conference (est. 2016), and The International Workshop on Musical Metacreation (est. 2012). The principal goal is to bring together scholars and artists interested in the virtual emulation of musical creativity and its use for music creation, and to provide an interdisciplinary platform to promote, present and discuss their work in scientific and artistic contexts.

The computational simulation of musical creativity continues to be an exciting and significant area of academic research, and is now making impacts in commercial realms. Such systems pose several theoretical and technical challenges, and are the result of an interdisciplinary effort that encompasses the domains of music, artificial intelligence, cognitive science and philosophy. This can be seen within the broader realm of Musical Metacreation, which studies the design and use of such generative tools and theories for music making: discovery and exploration of novel musical styles and content, collaboration between human performers and creative software “partners”, and design of systems in gaming and entertainment that dynamically generate or modify music.

The 2020 Joint Conference on AI Music Creativity will be virtual. It will consist of synchronous and asynchronous events. The five-day program will feature tutorials, research paper presentations, discussion panels, an online exhibition, nine invited spotlight presentations and two keynotes.

Keynote 1 Keynote 2

(Photo credit: Agata Urbaniak)
Professor Emeritus Dr. Johan Sundberg
Speech, Music and Hearing, KTH
Dr. Alice Eldridge
Music, Sussex University, UK

Spotlight Presentations:

Call for papers, tutorials, panels and musical works

We encourage submissions of papers, tutorials, panels and musical works on topics related to CSMC and MuMe, including, but not limited to, the following:



Please see the following pages for more information:

AI Music Generation Challenge 2020

The AI Music Generation Challenge 2020 is in the style of the double jigs in Sergeant Francis O’Neill’s “1001”. Find further details here.


At least one author of each accepted submission should register for the conference by Sep. 25, 2020. Papers without registered authors will be withdrawn. Please check back later for details on registration.


The event is organized by the Division of Speech, Music and Hearing in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering (KTH) in collaboration with the Royal Conservatory of Music (KMH).

Organization committee

Programme Committee

Steering committee


Please direct any questions/suggestions/special requests to the Conference Chair Bob L. T. Sturm